Paths of Glory – Suicide of Europe The First World War, 1914–1918




старонка3/11
Дата канвертавання24.04.2016
Памер0.57 Mb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11

7.1.4 To count as a Mandated Offensive, British or French units must attack a German unit in France, Belgium, Holland or Germany. (AUS, CND, PT, or ANA do not count as British for this purpose).

7.1.5 To count as a Mandated Offensive, German units must attack an American, British, Belgian, Dutch or French unit in France, Belgium, Holland or Germany. Treat GE Mandated Offensives as “None” after the H-L Take Command event is in effect (as noted on the CP Mandated Offensive Table). To count as a Mandated Offensive, a Turk unit must attack an Allied unit. The SN cannot satisfy the TU MO.

7.1.6 If the result is “AHIt” and Italy is at war, an Austro-Hungarian unit must attack a space containing Italian units, a space in Italy, or a space containing Allied units tracing supply through a space in Italy. If Italy is neutral or its capital is controlled by the CP during the Mandated Offensive Phase, move the Mandated Offensive marker to the AH box and treat the result as if “AH” had been rolled.

7.1.7 If the result is “AH,” an Austro-Hungarian unit must conduct an attack against any unit(s).

7.1.8 Once the “French Mutiny” Event is played, flip the Allied MO marker to its “FR Mutiny” side. Current and future FR MOs are considered to be FR Mutiny, and attacks are not required. In fact, any FR attack is penalized. If any FR units not stacked with US units attack while the Allied marker is on the FR MO Mutiny space, then, add 1 VP and the MO marker is moved to the “None or Made” box.

If the “French Mutiny” event is played while the Allied MO marker is on the FR space then simply flip the Allied MO marker to its FR MO Mutiny space.

FR Mutiny does not apply to attacks outside of FR, BE, HO or GE.

Exception: Attacking French units stacked with American units do not cause this VP penalty.

7.1.9 Once the “Hoffmann” Event is played, +1 is added to the Central Powers die roll on the Mandated Offensive Table for all future rolls. The play of the Hoffman Event does not change any CP Mandated Offensives currently in effect.

7.1.10 Once the “H-L Take Command” Event is played, the GE result on the Mandated Offensive Table is ignored for the rest of the game. If there is a German Mandated Offensive in effect when this event is played, ignore the Mandated Offensive and move the Mandated Offensive marker to the “None or Made” box.

7.1.11 Once the “Bolshevik Revolution” Event is played, ignore Russian Mandated Offensives for the rest of the game. If there is a Russian Mandated Offensive in effect when this Event is played, ignore the Mandated Offensive and move the Mandated Offensive marker to the “None or Made” box.
8.0 Action Phase

8.1 General Rules

8.1.1 There are between eight and ten Action Rounds per Action Phase, depending on the War commitment level of the Players. In each Action Round, each Player is allowed to take one or more Actions. For each Action the Player undertakes one of ten possible activities.

8.1.2 The Central Powers Player conducts the first action in each Action Round (but see 8.2.1).

8.1.3 At the start of an Action the active Player can pay 1VP to draw a card.

Starting with the Fall 1914 turn the active Player can decide to discard a card to have a chance to take an additional action in the round. This is resolved at the end of the action (see 8.2.2).



8.1.4 Activity Step

During his Action the active Player must take one of 10 possible activities:



  • Play a Strategy Card as an Operations (OPS) card.

  • Play a Strategy Card as a Strategic Redeployment (SR) card.

  • Play a Strategy Card as a Replacement (RP) card.

  • Play a Strategy Card as an Event card (but not after accepted Peace Terms, see 16.5.3).

  • Take a Voluntary Economic Action

  • Take a Voluntary Political Action.

  • Take a Voluntary Pass Action

  • Take an Automatic Operation with an OPS Value of one without the play of a Strategy Card.

  • Take an Automatic Strategic Redeployment with an SR Value of one without the play of a Strategy Card.

  • Take an Automatic Replacement with an RP Value of one without the play of a Strategy Card.

8.1.5 Supply Step

The Active Player adjusts the Out Of Supply (OOS) markers to OOS units.



8.1.6 Draw Step

The Player may either recycle one card or attempt to draw.



8.1.6.1 Recycling:

At the end of his action The active Player can Recycle one strategy card from his hand. Recycling is not allowed at the end of Mandated actions.

By deciding to recycle a card the active Player automatically forfeits his right to draw.

A Player may recycle any Strategy Card in his hand or any of his Combat Event Cards currently in the Played Cards Zone.

The Player discards the recycled card and draws a card.

If a Card discarded from the hand represents a unique event (i.e. bearing an asterisk), or an event with an “expiry date” (noted on the card in red, such as “Putnik”), then at the active Player’s option the card being recycled can be removed from the game rather than simply discarded; in this case place an equivalent card from the substitute events deck in the Player’s Discard Pile (the card can be viewed by the owning Player, and is then placed in the discard pile face down).



Exception: the Italian and Romanian Entry Cards (Cards number 16, 17) can not be removed from the game through recycling. If recycled these are simply discarded.

DESIGN NOTE: Recycling is useful to get rid of event cards that have for any reason become moot and not playable (for example the “Putnik” event card after 1915).

8.1.6.2 Drawing New Cards:

Depending upon the action taken, and provided he has not recycled a card in this Action, the active Player may draw:



  • If he has played a Strategy Card as an Operations (OPS) card or as a Strategic Redeployment (SR) card, then he rolls a die and subtracts the number of spaces that were activated during his action (this is the same as the number of “move”, “attack” and “move & attack” markers that were used) from the die roll: if the result is zero or more, then he may draw a card, if the result is negative, he must skip the draw.

  • If he has taken a Mandated Political or Economic Action, or if he has taken an Additional action (see 8.1.5) then he must skip the draw.

  • If he has taken a Voluntary Political or Economic Action, played a Strategy Card as an Event or as a Replacement (RP) Card, or if he has taken an OPS1, SR1 or RP1 action, then he may draw a card.

  • If he has taken Voluntary Pass action he may be allowed to draw, depending on his Commitment level (see 9.8).

Reshuffle discards as needed after dealing the last card available in the deck to the Player.

If a Player’s hand is at the 7 card limit, then he does not draw.



Clarification: some event Cards allow a player to draw as part of their effects. These draws occur during the action and are additional to the draws allowed at the end of the action. For example, the Central Powers “Diplomacy” event allows the Central Powers Player to take a Voluntary Political Action and then to draw 1 card. The Central Powers Player will perform his Voluntary Political Action as normal and then, in addition, the event would award an additional draw. At the end of the action, having played a Strategy Card as an Event, the player is allowed to either recycle or draw a card.

Clarification: some events’ text indicates that the card is played as a normal RP or SR action; for example the “Salonika” or “Capitalist Commitment” events. These are considered event plays and not the play of a strategy Card as an Operations (OPS) card or a Strategic Redeployment (SR) card.

8.1.6. Drawing Abilities and War Status

Limited War

When a player reaches Limited War Commitment level its drawing abilities improve permanently: whenever the player is allowed to draw a card he can look at the first two cards on the top of his drawing deck; he can chose which of the two to draw into his hand, and the other is re-shuffled back into his drawing deck.



Total War

When a player reaches Total War Commitment level its drawing abilities further improve permanently: whenever the player is allowed to draw a card he can look at the first three cards on the top of his drawing deck; he can chose which one of the three to draw into his hand, and the other two are re-shuffled back into his drawing deck.



DESIGN NOTE: The enhanced drawing ability is a necessity, given that the size of a player’s drawing deck moves from 18 cards to 44 cards when he reaches Limited War, and then to 73 cards when reaching Total War.

Its use is that it will allow players to cycle at reasonable speed through their swollen decks so as to still have a fair chance to draw those events that are critical for the progression of the Russian Revolution and the US Entry.

Players will be tempted to always draw the highest value card available, but doing so will leave them with all the low cards left in their drawing deck and facing many consecutive low value card draws, with potentially devastating consequences.
8.1.7 War Commitment Level Step

After performing his action, the Player determines if his War Commitment Level has increased. This is not checked in the first two turns (August 1914 and September 1914).

Great Britain (if still neutral) will join the Allies at the end of any CP action if France is at war and the VP level is 15 or more.

8.1.8 End Step

At the end of his action the active Player places a numbered marker on his Action Chart to indicate which action he has conducted.





8.2 Additional Actions

8.2.1 Starting with the Fall 1914 turn the Allied Player can discard a card at the beginning of a new turn to have a chance to take his action first in each action round of the turn.

8.2.1.1 The Allied Player rolls a die, and on a result of 1 or 2 the Allied Player will take his action first in each action round of the turn.

If the die roll result is a 3 to 6 there is no effect, and play continues with the Central Powers Player taking the first action in each Action Round of the turn.



8.2.2 Starting with the Fall 1914 turn the active Player can, at the beginning of each of his actions, decide to discard a card to have a chance to take an additional action in the round.

8.2.2.1 At the end of his action the Player rolls a die, and on a result of 1 or 2 he can take an additional action. He will automatically skip the draw at the end of this additional action.

The Player substitutes the numbered Action marker for this Action Round with an “Extra Action” marker, and uses the numbered Action marker for this Action Round on his Action Chart to indicate which additional action he has conducted.

If the die roll result is a 3 to 6 there is no effect, and play continues to the next round (or to the End of Turn phase, if this was the last round in the turn).

8.2.3 The Players continue to alternate taking actions until each Player has taken the appropriate number of actions.

8.2.4 Starting with the September 1914 turn the Player taking the first action in each Action Round can discard a card at the end of his opponent’s last action of the turn to have a chance to take an additional action before play moves on to the end of turn phase.

8.2.4.1 The Player rolls a die, and on a result of 1 or 2 he will take an additional action (this is treated as a regular action, and he will be allowed to draw or attempt to take an additional action at the end of this action).

If the die roll result is a 3 to 6 there is no effect, and play continues with the end of turn phase.



DESIGN NOTE: The rules on additional actions aim at weakening the chess-like predictability of the game, allowing Players to gamble and try to execute potentially devastating double-moves.

The structure of the rules make it expensive, and uncertain; at the same time it is conceivably possible for both Players to take as many as four actions in a row, however the opponent will always have a chance to actively oppose any attempt to make more than two actions in a row.
9.0 Strategy Cards

9.1 General Rules

9.1.1 In Paths of Glory, the Strategy Cards are the heart of the game. The Players initiate most actions, including movement and combat, through the play of Strategy Cards.

Exceptions are: Automatic Operation, SR and RP actions, Political and Economic Actions, Foreign Policy and Peace Terms, Siege Resolution. (See 8.1.3, 15.3 and 16.5.)

9.1.2 Each Player has his own deck of Strategy Cards which is subdivided into three groups: Mobilization Cards, Limited War Cards, and Total War Cards. Each Player begins the game using only his own Mobilization Cards. The other cards are added as each Player’s War Commitment Level increases (See 16.1).

9.1.3 Each Strategy Card can be used in one of four possible ways: for Operations (OPS), for Strategic Redeployment (SR), for Replacement Points (RP), or as an Event. The same card can be used either in the same way or in a different way each time it is played during a game, but each card can be used in only one way each time it is played.

9.1.4 (Optional) Those who wish to gain greater control over the card play should use an 8 rather than 7 initial and maximum card hand. All normal rules apply; Players are then able to hold an extra card in their hand.
9.2 Operations

9.2.1 If a Strategy Card is played as an OPS Card, the Player is allowed to spend a number of Activation Points equal to the OPS Value of the card.

Note: Certain Events allow activation points (OPS) as part of their effect...

9.2.2 A space costs the same number of Activation Points whether it is Activated for movement or combat.

Exception: After the “Fall of the Tsar” Event, spaces with Russian units activate normally for movement but cost one Activation Point per unit for combat.

9.2.3 The cost to activate a space is equal to the number of different nationalities (excluding forts) in the space. There are several exceptions listed below:

  • Belgian units in Antwerp, Brussels, Liege, Ostend, Calais or Amiens may be treated as British units for Activation purposes.

  • Dutch units in Amsterdam or Nijmegen may be treated as British units for Activation purposes.

  • ANA, BR, AUS, CND, and PT units are treated as one nationality (British) for Activation purposes. This is noted by all of these units sharing the same tan background.

  • French and US units may be treated as one nationality in France and Germany for Activation purposes.

  • The Central Powers Event Cards “Sud Army” and “11th Army” allow certain Central Powers stacks of different nationalities to be treated as one nationality for Activation purposes. Refer to those cards for details.

9.2.4 The cost to activate a multi-national space applies even if units of one or more of the nations will neither move nor attack depending on the Activation (i.e. a Player may not withhold units to lower the Activation cost).

NOTE: While the exceptions listed in 9.2.3 reduce Activation costs, the units are still considered different nationalities for Multi-national attacks (see 12.1.11).

NOTE: If some (but not all) nationalities in a space are OOS, the space can still be activated for movement. However, all units would still be counted for activation costs.

9.2.5 Each space can be Activated for movement, for attack, or for both. A Move and/or Attack marker should be placed on each space as it is Activated. Specific attacks do not need to be designated at this time. The cost to activate a space for both movement and attack is equal to the cost to activate the space for attack, with a minimum of 2.

9.2.6 Only occupied spaces may be Activated. A space with only a friendly Fort is not considered occupied for Activation purposes.

Exception: the Schlieffen Plan event allows the Central Powers Player to place activation markers on any space free of enemy units.

9.2.7 The Allied Player may Activate only one space per Action for combat on the Near East map. This applies to spaces actually on the NE map. Units in spaces not on the NE map may still attack into the NE map. (e.g., Adrianople, Gallipoli, Balekizir.)

Exceptions: The MEF Beach Head space and the space containing the British NE Army do not count against this limit.

This restriction includes Constantinople and Bursa, which are on the Near East map, but for reference are also depicted on the main map. Activation for movement on the Near East map is not restricted.

9.2.7.1 It costs 3 OPS to activate the MEF Army for movement or combat when tracing supply through the MEF Beach Head marker. It costs 1 OPS per corps to activate other Allied units tracing supply (at the moment of activation) through the MEF Beach Head marker. (For example, a stack that included the MEF and two corps would cost 5 OPS to activate.) A Player may not pay to partially activate a stack under this rule; the entire OPS cost per activated space must be paid (but see 10.1.2.1). This rule does not apply if the MEF is brought in as a normal reinforcement under 9.5.3.4. No Allied Army except the MEF may use the MEF Beach Head for supply. Only BR and AUS Corps may use the MEF Beach Head for supply.

9.2.8 After all Activated spaces are marked the Active Player may build Forts (see 15.4) and reorganize units in any or all of the activated spaces.

9.2.8.1 Reorganisation

Supplied Units in activated spaces may be substituted with units in the eliminated/replaceable box, and vice versa, within the limits of the available units, by exchanging one Army step with two full strength Corps of the same nationality.

In addition the Active Player may elect to:


  • take Corps units from the Reserve box in case there are insufficient Corps units in the eliminated/replaceable box.

  • bring onto the map a lower number of Corps units than he would be entitled to (i.e. bring onto the map only one Corps in exchange for an Army unit step);

  • bring onto the map a reduced Corps unit from the Reserve box when entitled to bring onto the map a full strength Corps.

9.2.8.2 An Army unit can only be placed in a space trough reorganization if it would be possible to place it as if it were a reinforcement (see 9.5.3.3) and then SR it to the space. Because of this rule Russian Armies can only be brought on the map through reorganization in spaces inside Russia (and excluding Russian spaces in the NE map).

Note: this restriction prevents reorganization to be abused as a proxy of Army movement by sea: for example without this restriction the Allied Player would be able to place Armies in Egypt by simply stacking two full strength Corps there.

Two supplied reduced Corps of the same nationality in an activated space may be substituted with one full strength Corps (but not vice-versa). Flip one Corps to its full strength side and place the other in the eliminated / replaceable box.



Note: Due to the different nationalities within the British forces, the same restrictions listed in 12.4.4.3 on which British Corps can replace which Armies also apply to reorganization.

9.2.8.3 Reorganization does not require expenditure of movement points, and all units in the activated spaces are able to move and attack normally. Units placed in a space following reorganization can not be further reorganized in the same Action.

Units can be brought into the map through reorganisation so as to exceed stacking limits; however the active player must immediately eliminate the excess units prior to conducting any further activity.



Example 1: the Active Player could substitute a reduced Strength Army in an activated space with two full strength Corps: the reduced Strength Army would be placed in the eliminated/replaceable box while the two full strength Corps would be placed in the activated space occupied by the Army.

Example 2: the Active Player could substitute two full strength Corps in an activated space with a reduced strength Army provided an Army is currently available in the eliminated/replaceable box.

Example 3: the Active Player could place two full strength Corps from an activated space into the eliminated/replaceable box to flip a reduced strength Army occupying the same activated space to full strength.

Example 4: the Active Player could flip a full strength Army in an activated space to its reduced side and place two full strength Corps from the eliminated/replaceable box into the same activated space.

Example 5: the Active Player could flip a full strength Army in an activated space to its reduced side and place one full strength Corps from the eliminated/replaceable box and one reduced strength Corps from the Reserve box into the same activated space (presumably because a second Corps is not available in the eliminated/replaceable box).

After all reorganizations have been completed, the Active Player may move his units which begin in a space marked with a Move marker. Not all units in spaces marked with a Move marker must move.



9.2.8.4 Enhanced reorganisation (Optional)

Units placed in a space following reorganization can be further reorganized in the same Action.



Example 6: if this optional rule is in use the Active Player could flip a full strength Army in an activated space to its reduced side and place two full strength Corps from the eliminated/replaceable box into the same activated space, and then substitute the two full strength Corps just placed on the map with a reduced strength Army (effectively substituting one full strength Army with two reduced strength Armies).

9.2.9 After all movement is completed, the active Player conducts any Combat(s) that he wishes to initiate from spaces marked with an Attack marker. Note: if during movement, all friendly units exit a space containing an enemy Fort, that space may be attacked by adjacent units already activated for combat.
9.3 Strategic Redeployment

9.3.1 If a Strategy Card is played as an SR Card, the Player may use Strategic Redeployment to move Corps and/or Armies.

9.3.2 The Player receives a number of SR Points equal to the SR Value of the card.

9.3.3 Up to two SR points may be converted into OPS points to activate spaces for Movement or Attack, under the normal rules, however, at least one SR move must be made when playing an SR card.

All SR moves in the Action must be completed before any Operations (i.e. “normal” Movement and / or Attack) can take place.

Units may end their SR move into a space activated for Movement and / or Attack, but may not then move farther nor attack in the same Action.

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11


База данных защищена авторским правом ©shkola.of.by 2016
звярнуцца да адміністрацыі

    Галоўная старонка