The climate is a mix of continental and ocean climates with four seasons: spring, summer, fall, winter

Дата канвертавання24.04.2016
Памер6.02 Kb.
The Slovak Republic is an independent state situated in the Central Europe. The borders are mostly natural, made by rivers and mountains. It’s bordered by the Czech Republic in the west, in the north by Poland, in the east by Ukraine, in the south by Hungary and Austria. The most important rivers of Slovakia include the Danube, the Vah, the Hron, the Hornad, the Orava and other. The river Danube connects the country with the Black Sea and the Northern Sea. It is the only river that is used for river transport.

There are beautiful mountain lakes and it is largely a mountainous country. There are national parks in Slovakia such as the High and Low Tatra, the Little Fatra, the Giant Fatra, the Slovak Paradise and the Slovak Karst.

The climate is a mix of continental and ocean climates with four seasons: spring, summer, fall, winter.

Slovakia has more than 5 million inhabitants and nearly 50 thousand square kilometres, its one of the smaller countries of Europe. The main industries are engineering, energetic, steel, and chemical industry. The official language is the Slovak. Most people speak Slovak, but in some regions people speak Hungarian, Ukrainian and Polish.

The capital of Slovakia is Bratislava. The bigger towns include Košice, Banská Bystrica, Prešov, Nitra, Žilina, Trnava, Martin and others.

The state has over 270 castles. The Spis Castle, Spišské Podhradie, Spišská Kapitula, Vlkolinec and Banská Štiavnica have been included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List.

The system of government of the Slovak Republic is divided into 3 branches: the legislative branch (parliament), the executive branch (the prime minister and his cabinet) and the judicial branch (the courts). The head of the state is the President. He is elected by popular vote for 5 years. The current president is Ivan Gašparovič. The Grassalkovich palace is the residence of the president.

The state symbols are the national emblem, the flag (which has 3 horizontal stripes: white, blue and red, on the left half there is a double cross with 3 mountains), the seal and anthem, which name is “Nad Tatrou sa blýska”.

Bratislava- the capital city of Slovakia. It is a cultural, political, and industrial centre. The dominant of Bratislava is Slavín- it is a cemetery of soldiers, who died in World War II, The Old Town Hall, the Primacial Palace, which present paintings, so these are galleries and museums. The most important university there is The Comenius University.

Košice- the second largest city in SR. The St. Elizabeth’s Catedral was built in the 13th century. Here is the East Slovakia Museum, the famous Statue of the Marathon Runner, the Urban’s Tower.

База данных защищена авторским правом © 2016
звярнуцца да адміністрацыі

    Галоўная старонка